h Metal ioni Reviews H


Metal 1on1 is proud to present a metalcore/melodic

death act, with their second full-length release  

<< A New Death >>

FFO: Devildriver, Lamb Of God, The Dillinger Escape Plan, 



Band: Five Minute Hate

Home: Italy (Borgomanero (Novara), Piedmont)

Style: Melodic Death/Metalcore

Title: A New Death

Type: Full-length

Release: 16th March 2020

Runtime: 35:59

Label: n/a

Artwork: Sara Musu

𝕾𝖎𝖓 𝖑: 𝕲𝖚𝖎𝖙𝖆𝖗 & 𝕭𝖆𝖘𝖘: An mixture of harsh, duel melodic/technically - catchy & groovy rhythms/riffs with chord/tempo changes that intertwine with slow breakdowns, intense passages & alienated sound-fx

𝕾𝖎𝖓 𝖑𝖑: 𝖁𝖔𝖈𝖆𝖑𝖘: Mixture of yelling and screaming

𝕾𝖎𝖓 𝖑𝖑𝖑: 𝕯𝖗𝖚𝖒𝖘: Multifaceted of tempos and drum patterns, with the occasional blast beats,& double bass drumming

𝕾𝖎𝖓 𝖑𝖁: 𝕺𝖛𝖊𝖗𝖆𝖑𝖑: New Death is a unique blend of melodic death metal with metalcore that represents a step forward to a sound that's more modern, defined, sharp and catches the listener's ears. Indeed Five Minutes Hate has taken the artistic direction of creating something new and vibrant with this release.


For myself, FMH is a (new) discovery for me, as for the backstory of the band's debut release "Explanation to Failure", continues with "A New Death" the concept tackled in the first album: the rebirth through the death of a new subhuman race, in a post-apocalyptic scenario of desolation, which in this new guise will make its way through darkness and chaos


With hitting that worn-out play button, volume crank to eleven, the first brief moment, you're welcome to a Devildriver-ish sound, then the rest of 'New Death' is a fresh, modern sound of a mixture of melodic death metal & metalcore of over thirty minutes, of one heck of deliverance, of a unique sound of their own; that consist of tempo, mood and occasional sound changes or should I say intertwine beautifully together from slow breakdowns of metalcore to a mid-pace rhythm, with an attitude/aggressive of death metal, crafty/groovy technically chord changes & riffing, warm melodies, small insert of keyboards at the end of track seven, intense & catchy drumming, while I found Davide singing technic is fantastic, doesn't go overboard on the metalcore singing, they is a slight tint of croaky/melodic death in the back of his vocal cords


*full of energy*

*entertaining* powerful* * a true masterpiece* *unique*

An artistic & vibrant

metalcore & melodic death metal

𝕾𝖎𝖓 𝖁: 𝕬𝖗𝖙𝖜𝖔𝖗𝖐: speaks for the lyrical themes of the music, horror and death! Also, as this cold atmosphere look/feel to the artwork

𝕾𝖎𝖓 𝖁𝖑: 𝕺𝖚𝖙𝖘𝖙𝖆𝖓𝖉𝖎𝖓𝖌: The whole full-length is fantastic, new and vibrating, not one moment or song that is bad

𝕾𝖎𝖓 𝖁𝖑𝖑: 𝕯𝖎𝖘𝖑𝖎𝖐𝖊: none


Davide Monti  (vocals)

Marco Savoini (guitar)

Lorenzo Altomari (guitar)

Igor Malgaroli (bass)

Mattia De Roit (drums)


#01 Mediocrity Will Be Your Grave (3:31)

#02 The Man You Will Never Be (3:43)

#03 Under Its Claws (3:55)

#04 Cunning Opportunist Individual (3:32)

#05 Rising Rain (3:24)

#06 Monstrosity (3:33)

#07 Crying (3:18)

#08 Torment Of The Black Sheep (3:29)

#09 B.O.B. (3:31)

#10 The Abyss Is Venting Up (4:03)


Explanation to Failure (2016)

A New Death (2020)

  • Facebook
  • logo1on1notxt
  • Instagram

copyright © 2018 Metal 1on1