h Metal ioni Reviews H

Metal 1on1 is proud to present a metal fusion act, Stricken

with their latest release 'Black Sunrise' EP

FFO: My Chemical Romance, Sum 41, Green Day


Band: Stricken

Home: USA (New Jersey)

Style: Metal (Emo, Nu/Prog Metal)

Title: Black Sunrise

Type: EP

Release: 18th June 2019

Runtime: 19:03

Label: Unsigned/independent

𝕾𝖎𝖓 𝖑: 𝕲𝖚𝖎𝖙𝖆𝖗 & 𝕭𝖆𝖘𝖘: Catchy raunchy bass licks, with harsh progressive guitar riffs, with additional melodic solos. Also within guitar playing, we have technically, flashy/classic metal guitar playing…..

𝕾𝖎𝖓 𝖑𝖑: 𝖁𝖔𝖈𝖆𝖑𝖘: The vocal style within the songs, is like a gearbox in a sports car, how Jakelee's tone and sound changes with ease from progressive, melodic, clean, emo to pop-punk in one speed!!

𝕾𝖎𝖓 𝖑𝖑𝖑: 𝕯𝖗𝖚𝖒𝖘: Warm, lush, hard-hitting (catchy) beats, with melodies and mid-tempo passages

𝕾𝖎𝖓 𝖑𝖁: 𝕺𝖛𝖊𝖗𝖆𝖑𝖑: With only four songs, and only runtime of nineteen minutes, this is bad-arse EP, even the intro as this nice build-up, the overall of the music is fast-ish, catchy, pop-ish, dark, enjoyable, fun, bouncy, full of life and energetic


Lyrical wise, this EP is beautifully written, along with the music – you have so much going on within the four tacks; melodies, tone, different tempos, powerful vocals, awesome riffs, build up within the songs


A dark & full of sorrow fusion of emo, nu-metal and progressive metal that beautifully crafted and captures your ears and heart


*entertaining* *wow-factory*

*car anthem* * breathtakingly and dark & powerful/beautiful *

*once played, you want to replay the whole thing again*


A Star Crashing


Powerful emo-pop Anthem

𝕾𝖎𝖓 𝖁: 𝕬𝖗𝖙𝖜𝖔𝖗𝖐: With a dark lyrical theme and the songs having grim and morbid/sorrow feel to them and having the artwork of a solitude silhouette in a misty mountain top, looking towards a tunnel, within and/or end of the tunnel… is a light!!! - making the EP more despair & sorrow!

𝕾𝖎𝖓 𝖁𝖑: 𝕺𝖚𝖙𝖘𝖙𝖆𝖓𝖉𝖎𝖓𝖌: The whole EP

𝕾𝖎𝖓 𝖁𝖑𝖑: 𝕯𝖎𝖘𝖑𝖎𝖐𝖊: none !!!


Jakelee "Jake Justice" Burke (Vocals)

"Xela" Stockmal (Bass)

John "Johnny Baptist" Maher (Guitars)

Samuel Gautier (Drums)


#01. Black Sunrise

#02. As the Hours Tick

#03. No Act of Martyrdom

#04. Void




  • Facebook
  • logo1on1notxt
  • Instagram

copyright © 2018 Metal 1on1